Skip to main content

Home: Genocide - Rwanda

ClickView Online

Rwanda genocide: 100 days of slaughter

BBC News reports show how the story of the genocide emerged to the world.

Hotel Rwanda

The crime of crimes : enemy

YouTube overviews of the genocide

Warning graphic content. About the film: FRONTLINE marks the 10th anniversary of the Rwandan genocide with a documentary chronicling one of the worst atrocities of the 20th century. In addition to interviews with key government officials and diplomats, the two-hour documentary offers ground-breaking, eyewitness accounts of the genocide from those who experienced it firsthand: from Tutsi survivors who recount the horror of seeing their friends and family members slaughtered by neighbours and co-workers; to the UN peacekeepers stationed amid the carnage who were ordered not to intervene; to those holding positions of power at the White House. These accounts allow FRONTLINE to illustrate the social, political, and diplomatic failures that enabled the slaughter of 800,000 people to occur unabated and unchallenged by the global community.

Alison Des Forges was Human Rights Watch's senior advisor in the Africa Division and one of the world's foremost experts on Rwanda. In the period leading up to the genocide, she worked tirelessly to alert world powers to the impending crisis in Rwanda.

Warning, graphic images in this report that could be disturbing. Twenty-five years ago, at least 800,000 people were killed in Rwanda in just 100 days. The scars remain, and the healing continues. To observe the 25th anniversary of the genocide, Rwanda will pause this weekend to commemorate one of the worst periods in its history. Sunday marks the day when Hutu militia began an ethnic genocide against the Tutsi minority. Al Jazeera's Andrew Simmons visits the area of Nyamata, where some of the worst atrocities took place.

Useful Websites

Rwanda genocide: 100 days of slaughter 

Warning: contains graphic images. In just 100 days in 1994, about 800,000 people were slaughtered in Rwanda by ethnic Hutu extremists. They were targeting members of the minority Tutsi community, as well as their political opponents, irrespective of their ethnic origin.


Leave None to Tell the Story : Genocide in Rwanda

In the thirteen weeks after April 6, 1994, at least half a million people perished in the Rwandan genocide, perhaps as many as three quarters of the Tutsi population. At the same time, thousands of Hutu were slain because they opposed the killing campaign and the forces directing it.


Clinton Presidential Digital Library

The digital Collection of the Presidential Library of Bill Clinton. Search for Rwanda, Genocide, etc. This resource includes:

  • Primary Source Declassified Documents
  • Primary Source Transcripts
  • Primary Source Audio Recording

FRONTLINE: The Triumph of Evil

Website including all of the resources on the PBS documentary series on the Rwandan Genocide. The resource Includes:

  • Primary Source Speeches
  • Interviews
  • Readings
  • Timelines
  • Transcripts

Genocide Archive of Rwanda

The Genocide Archive of Rwanda collections contain text based documents related to the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda. Read through these collections that include newspapers and articles, correspondences, reports and more. This resource Includes:

  • Audio Transcripts
  • International Tribunal Court Documents 
  • Primary Source Declassified Documents 
  • Journals
  • Magazines

Legacy website of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

The International Criminal Tribunal prosecuted persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and neighbouring States. Most links on the site will direct you to the current website which is run by the United Nations Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals. This resource includes:

  • Primary Source Judicial Records
  • Primary Source Case Records
  • Background information
  • Timeline
  • News Articles

A good man in Rwanda

It is 20 years since the genocide in Rwanda in which 800,000 people died, most of them Tutsis. BBC correspondent Mark Doyle reported on the killings in 1994. To mark the anniversary he has retraced the story of Captain Mbaye Diagne, a United Nations peacekeeper in Rwanda, who saved many lives through his bravery.